The following new cities, independent of innumerable small towns, have been lately begun to be built in America. The city of Washington, which, in the year 1800, is to be the capital of the United States; the city of Paterson, in the State of New Jersey; the city of Hudson, upon the North River, in the state of New York; the city of Columbia, which is now the capital of the State of South Carolina; the city of Martenberg, now the capital of North Carolina; the city of Knoxcille, in teh new district of Franklyn; the city of Nuskville, in the new district of Cumberland; the city of Lexington, and the city of Donxville, in the new State of Kentucky; and the city of Bennington, in the new state of Vermont. The ground is also marked out, and the lots are upon sale, for building one more new city, to be called Newport, on the river Potowmac, and another called Athens, on the banks of the Mississippi.

Citation: Glasgow Advertiser (Glasgow, United Kingdom), 06 January 1794, available at the Scissors and Paste Database,